gloriaayoon

Just another WordPress.com site

What I Want to be Remembered for When I Die (egotistical) November 14, 2011

Filed under: egotistical — gloriaayoon @ 1:47 am

At this point in life, I have absolutely no idea what I want to be. I am fully aware that I will be going off to college in 2 years but I am still clueless about what I would spend the rest of my life doing. Whatever it is that I end up being committed to, I want to be recognized for it. Later on in life, after I’ve finished living my share of years, I want to be remembered for being accomplished at my job and through that, changing the world.

As of now, I am only an average student among millions of other fellow pupils. If I were to die today, it would be quite unfitting to say at my funeral that I left a lasting legacy on the history of mankind. Honestly, it would be difficult for me to be remembered for anything at all.  Still, there would be those remembering me as a great friend, loving daughter, or hard working student.

However, you’ve got to admit, those characteristics are plain boring. Any decent person can get described by those traits. When I die, I want to be remembered for something big. I do not know exactly how I am to go about achieving this big thing that’s supposed to change the world, but I do have a few ideas of what they might be. Some great ideas I have in mind are along the lines of finding a cure for cancer, revolutionizing the fashion industry, finding a way to stop hunger and starvation, coming up with a solution to global warming, or uniting North and South Korea once and for all.

Of course, living on in people’s memories is something that shouldn’t be taken for granted. Being missed by your loved ones and friends even after death, goes to show that you’ve been loved and that you’ve lived a life that you should be proud of. However, it’s not only in memories that I want my death to leave a mark on. I want to brand my name in history textbooks and newspaper articles. I want a whole Wikipedia page written about me and my achievements and hard-lived life. I want 100,000,000 results to pop up when ‘Gloria Yoon’ is Googled. I want a holiday on the day of my birthday to commemorate my life and legacy.

When I die, I want to be remembered for changing the world. You only get one chance at life, and it takes a whole lot of diligence to get it right. After giving all for this life that I’m living, I want my efforts to be recognized and celebrated. It would be a horrible waste of a life if all the tears and sweat that put into living were buried, along with my death. This seems all very vain and ambitious of me, but I want to live a life that is remembered, because I know that I’ve given my best for every moment of it.

 

2 Responses to “What I Want to be Remembered for When I Die (egotistical)”

  1. Wow Gloria~!
    Don’t worry I’ll always remember you as one truly amazing friend of mine. A hardworking, bright, fun, and sometimes scary girl to be around 🙂
    I enjoyed reading your essay about how you want to be remember as someone life changing. You have some really interesting and shocking ideas about how you want to be recognized in the future. Nice, voice. You have such confidence and passion to become recognized in the future as someone influential to the world.


Leave a Reply

